The Columbia Museum of Art Board plays an essential role in the governance and financial oversight of the Museum.  Members have a fiduciary responsibility to provide resources, prudent leadership and management, and for leading and ensuring successful operations.   Core responsibilities are: (a) defining a mission and purpose; (b) hiring/evaluating the CEO/ED; (c) ensuring effective organizational planning, resources, and sustainability; (d) managing those resources; (e) monitoring and strengthening programs; (f) enhancing the nonprofit’s image; (g) maintaining ethical/legal standing; and (h) recruiting, orienting, and training new board members.



Click here to read the by-laws.


There are five (5) council appointments.
 All applicants must reside within the corporate limits of the City of Columbia.


 Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of the month.

Committee Members:

Term Ends
Ronald Rogers2
October 2021
Joel A. Smith III 1
September 2020
Gail Morrison3
May 2022
Katherine Davis2
January 2018
C. Carroll Heyward3
May 2019
(#) denotes number of term

Council Liaisons:

The Honorable Stephen K. Benjamin
The Honorable Tameika Isaac Devine

 Contact Info:

Ms. Karen Brosius
Executive Director
1515 Main Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 799-2810
Click here to visit their website.