The Central Midlands Regional Transit Authority (The COMET) is a regional transportation authority formed by Richland County, City of Columbia and Lexington County on April 24, 2000, by the Central Midlands Council of Governments. The COMET consists of an intergovernmental agreement signed by Richland County, City of Columbia, City of Forest Acres and Lexington County to fund, operate and maintain public transit services in the Central Midlands area. 

The COMET is also the brand name of the transit services provided. The COMET provides countywide public transit services on 34 fixed routes, five ReFlex services and DART ADA complementary paratransit service throughout Richland and western Lexington Counties. The COMET transports more than 2.8 million passengers annually on a fleet of more than 80 buses, vans and trolleys. 

The COMET also supports and provides opportunities for additional mobility through partnerships with attractions, neighborhoods and events, Uber, Lyft and Blue Bike of S.C.

The primary purpose of the board is to administer, manage and operate fixed-route bus service and demand-response paratransit service, in and around the Columbia, South Carolina urbanized area. The COMET functions under the direction of the Board of Directors. This board was established by SC Code 58-25, the Regional Transit Authority Enabling Act.



Click here to read the by-laws.



There are three (3) council appointments, one of which is a council member. The Board of Directors is made up of representatives of the following local jurisdictions, many of which are local elected officials: Richland County, City of Columbia, Forest Acres and Lexington County.
Term of office is three (3) years with one (1) reappointment.
Appointees must reside in the corporate limits of the city.



    Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of every month at 12 noon. Board meeting minutes can be found on the website here

    Additionally, the meetings are recorded and uploaded to The COMET’s YouTube channel here



Committee Members:

Term Ends
Mr. Derrick Huggins3
June 2023
Mr. Ronald Anderson2
November 2020
Ms. Carolyn Gleaton2
April 2022

(#) denotes number of term

Contact Info:

John C. Andoh, CCTM, CPM | Executive Director/CEO

Central Midlands Regional Transit Authority 

3613 Lucius Road | Columbia, SC 29201

O: 803.255.7087| C: 803.629.1631 | F: 803.255.7113

Transit Information: 803.255.7100

Click here to email the COMET.

Click here to visit the COMET’s website.