The Planning Commission (PC) generally meets the first Monday of every month.  Meetings begin at 5:15 p.m.  Meetings are held at the 3rd Floor of City Hall (City Council Chambers), 1737 Main Street.  The Planning Commission may only hear items that have been placed upon the agenda by the Zoning Division in accordance with Title 30, Chapter 4 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina.

Emergency Ordinance 2020-032 expired on July 11, 2021, and City boards and commissions will be meeting in person at Busby Community Center (1735 Busby Street) until further notice.  These meetings will be open to the public, and public comment may be provided in-person. In-person meetings will be socially distanced and face coverings are required to be worn inside City facilities.  Members of the public may still choose to stream meetings remotely through CityTV, additional information about how to participate in the meetings remotely will be provided on the final agenda for each meeting.

The public may submit letters and statements via email to [email protected] either in advance of or during the meetings.  Please be sure to include your name and the case information, such as the address and topic of the request. Further public participation instructions are provided on the agendas. Please note: to allow for timely and equal participation for all members of the public who wish to comment on a case, letters or emails submitted to be read into the record during the meeting may contain up to but no more than 500 words. If longer written communication is desired, then that may be submitted to [email protected] up to 4pm the day before the pending PC meeting; it will be forwarded to PC members for their perusal prior to the meeting.

As this is an ever-evolving situation, please continue to monitor for additional information.

It is the policy of the City of Columbia that all City-sponsored public meetings and events are accessible to people with disabilities. If you need assistance in participating in this meeting or event due to a disability as defined under the ADA, please call the City’s ADA Coordinator at (803) 545-3009 or e-mail [email protected] as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled meeting or event to request an accommodation.

Agendas & Minutes
Calendar - Printable 2021
Fee Schedule
Watch Meetings via Live Streaming

Back row: Ford Tupper; Brian Dolphin (past member); Rick Cohn (past member & Chair); Dale Stigamier (past member & Chair); Craig Waites (past member)

Front row: LaTrell Harts; Isa Mandell; April James, Vice Chair; James Frost III, Chair

Not pictured: Harris Cohn, Mason Harpe, Raquel Thomas

For additional information, contact Zoning Division, (803) 545-3222.