The purpose of the BPAC is:

  1. to advise the City of Columbia Transportation Planning team, City Council Members, the Mayor and community organizations and partners on bicycling and pedestrian issues facing the city and to work toward the implementation of the Comprehensive Plan: Walk Bike Columbia and any subsequently adopted bicycle and pedestrian plans or policies;
  2. to represent community and constituent interests in transportation planning decisions faced by City Council;
  3. to provide feedback to staff on projects relating to walking and bicycling. City of Columbia staff will consider recommendations from the BPAC along with input from other members of the public during decision making; and
  4. to develop and implement initiatives with Council support to improve upon the bicycle and pedestrian culture of the City of Columbia.


The BPAC generally meets the second Monday of every month.  The meetings are open to the public.

2018 BPAC Meeting Calendar

Upcoming Local Events

  • February 21, 2018: Handlebar Happy Hour, Publick House, 2307 Devine Street, 6pm
  • March 12, 2018: BPAC Meeting, 4:30 pm, Room 213 Richland Library Main
  • March 15-18, 2018: Bike Bike Southeast
  • March 22 & 24, 2018: Public Space Public Life Counts, various locations downtown
  • April 22, 2018, Open Streets Columbia, 1:00-5:00 pm, Devine Street (between Sims & Chatham)


There are seventeen (17) council appointments. Members include people with interest and expertise in bicycle and pedestrian issues as well as representatives from neighborhood and business organizations.  All applicants must be reside or work within the corporate limits of the City. The term of office is three (3) years and appointees are eligible for one (1) reappointment. 
Current members, with term expiration dates in parentheses, are listed below:
  • Christina Galardi, Co-Chair (October 2019)
  • Scott Thorpe, Co-Chair (October 2019)
  • Bethany Bell (March 2019)
  • Gene Bell (October 2019)
  • Jane Downey (December 2018)
  • Brian Faulkner (October 2019)
  • Keith Gosselin (September 2018)
  • John Green (March 2019)
  • Ernest Grigg (October 2019)
  • Fritz Hamer (November 2020)
  • Scott Nuelken (November 2020)
  • Rip Sanders (November 2020)
  • Robert (Glenn) Weaver (November 2020)
  • Chrys Zouras (November 2020)

Meeting Minutes